Four Branches of the Mabinogi

The “Four Branches of the Mabinogi,” or “Pedair Cainc Y Mabinogi” in Welsh, represent a cornerstone of early British literature and Welsh mythology. Composed in Middle Welsh, they have been widely translated and continue to influence modern culture. Each Branch, named after a key protagonist, forms a part of a larger, interconnected narrative:

Pwyll Prince of Dyfed: The First Branch of the Mabinogi

This tale focuses on Pwyll’s adventures in Annwfn, a magical realm. It includes elements of shape-shifting, a chastity test, and a duel. Pwyll’s courtship with the powerful Rhiannon leads to his aid in her liberation and their subsequent marriage. The story also covers the mysterious abduction of their son, Pryderi, and his eventual return.

Branwen Daughter of Llŷr: The Second Branch of the Mabinogi

This Branch centres on Branwen, married to the King of Ireland. Her narrative is marked by domestic abuse instigated by her half-brother Efnysien, leading to a catastrophic war. The story includes a magical cauldron that resurrects the dead and ends with the tragic death of Branwen and the survival of the giant king Bran’s head in an enchanted state.

Manawydan Son of Llŷr: The Third Branch of the Mabinogi

Manawydan, Branwen’s brother, becomes a close friend of Pryderi after the war. This tale involves Manawydan’s marriage to Rhiannon and the enchantment and devastation of Dyfed. The story progresses through their journeys in England, the magical entrapment of Pryderi and Rhiannon, and Manawydan’s clever negotiation for their release and the restoration of Dyfed.

Math Son of Mathonwy: The Fourth Branch of the Mabinogi

This Branch is a complex narrative involving war, treachery, and magical elements. It details the conflicts involving Dyfed, the demise of Pryderi, the sexual violation of a maiden, and the disdainful rejection of a hero son by Arianrhod. Gwydion, a magician and Arianrhod’s brother, orchestrates many of these events. The tale includes the creation of Blodeuwedd, a woman made from flowers who becomes involved in a deadly love triangle.

Pryderi is the only character who appears in all four Branches, although he is never the central figure in any of them. These tales blend mythology, political themes, romances, and magical fantasies, appealing to a broad spectrum of readers. Their impact extends beyond literature into modern interpretations in art, fiction, theater, and film. The Four Branches of the Mabinogi continue to be a rich source of cultural and historical insight into early Welsh society and mythology.

More about Four Branches of the Mabinogi